top of page
  • n1013315

Los Reyes Magos

Updated: Feb 12, 2022

As a small design task we were asked to create costumes for the Three Kings and the star for the Los Reyes Magos parade which happens in Spain every year as a Christmas tradition.


I wanted my designs to be colourful, vibrant, and extravagant, so that the actors can be stand out in the crowd, and hopefully provide a magical experience for the audience. To create this extravagance, I had each king wear an excess of material, in the clocks and billowing trousers. I also decided that a running theme I would have is headdresses. Each king has the gift he gave, but transformed into a hat, and in the case of Mechoir and Gasper a large train is attached to each, showing the gold and frankincense spilling over.

We also had to link our designs to a current worldwide issue, and I decided to incorporate environmentalism subtly into mine, as this is an issue which I am very passionate about. I did this by having real foliage creeping up the base of the trousers and cloak, to represent how it is crucially important that the natural world heals and grows back again.



For my star costume I wanted to create the idea of luxury and also wanted to create the impression that the star headdress is floating. Hence I decided to create the dress as being all black. When it came to deciding on the shape of the skirt and the material its made out of, I went for large black feathers, as, not only does this give me a carnival feel, when I thought of the night sky, I thought of it being soft, and layered with lots of hidden movement.



Overall, I am really pleased with my designs as I believe they work together well, and create a celebratory atmosphere.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page