top of page
  • n1013315

Model Making

Updated: Feb 12, 2022

In our first model making class we started off with the basics and had to create a scaled down version of a 1mx1m cube. To help with the scaling down we used a scale ruler. The model had to be very accurate, which I found difficult as my cutting of the pieces wasn't. Also to create the right size you had to take into account the thickness of the card, to help me do these calculations I drew an annotated sketch. This made it a lot easier to figure, and is something I will definitely do throughout model making. Another tip I found out was to always have you metal ruler on the side which you want to keep, as this will prevent you from slipping and cutting into your pieces.

During this lesson we were also advised on the best equipment to get this included: a swan Morton knife, small cutting mat, large pack of blades ( as they get blunt quickly), metal ruler, scale ruler, wood glue (not PVA as it isn't strong), and set square.

Although it took me a long time to finish, I am pleased with my box, which came out very nearly accurate.




This week we looked at using templates to build up a window and door. I found the window the hardest to do as you had to cut out each individual pane without slicing into any other one. However, my tutor taught me a technique, which meant I didn't slice through any of the bars. This technique was to make a cut down each side, but stop quite far from the end, then to do the slices in the opposite direction. This prevented me from going accidentally going too far when I made my cuts. When I was cutting some of my door pieces, my card started to tear instead of cut neatly, I discovered that this is due my blade being too blunt. By swapping to a new one I cut the rest of my door pretty neatly, overall I am pleased with my work, and plan to use these basic doors and windows as a basis if I ever do model making again.



Firstly this week we looked at textures and more specifically, how to create a brick wall. There are many different types of brick wall so it is important when making your model that you research what type of brick work fits the time and place you are creating your model in. However for practise we created a scaled up brick wall and cobblestone wall. I discovered the best way to make a wall is to make each individual brick instead of carving it on, and also the most effective way of cutting out bricks is to have them in a grid so you have to make less slices, I liked the cobblestone wall better, as we used two different thicknesses of card to create them which created a more textured effect. We also looked at making furniture, and created a simple chair using five pattern pieces. As we used the same template technique as with the widows and doors, I felt more confident completely this task, even though the pieces were small and fiddley. As the legs etc of the chair were so thin I applied a coating of PVA glue with a small amount of water added to the full thing to make it more rigid.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page